Papua New Guinea

Digicel ExxonMobil Cup kicks off this Sunday

The 2023 Digicel ExxonMobil Cup season will kick off this Sunday, featuring new franchise Sepik Pride in their debut match against Gulf Isou at the Santos National Football Stadium.

In the first game of a double-header, the Port Moresby Vipers will take on the Mt Hagen Eagles, while the Mendi Muruks will go up against the Kimbe Cutters and the Lae Tigers will host the Central Dabaris at the Lae Rugby League Ground in another double-header for round one.

Meanwhile, the Goroka Lahanis will play against the defending premiers Hela Wigmen at the National Sports Institute in the Eastern Highlands capital, and the Rabaul Gurias will visit the Enga Mioks at Aipus Oval in Wabag, Enga. The EMK Construction-sponsored Sepik Pride’s captain, Wartovo Puara, stated that his team needs to start the season strongly and is confident that they can achieve a positive result, with coach Joe Bruno counting on Watson Boas, Joe Frank, Francis Kembis, and Francis Takai to contribute significantly.

Isou performed impressively in a trial match against the experienced Vipers last week, with former Hunters playmaker Justin Yoka managing the game while Emmanuel Parua and Adam Korave led a determined pack. In contrast, the Vipers’ sponsors are demanding results after a disappointing finish last season. With the likes of Stanton Albert, Joel Torombe, Philemon Kimisive, Ham Tina, Abel Rami, and Fedro Gene, they have an experienced side that will lay the foundation for five-eighth Milex Winis and centre Edene Gebbie to ignite the backline. The Eagles will also benefit from former Hunter Joe Joshua’s presence at fullback, while captain Joshua Nani and Bradley Angra will strengthen the rugged pack.

Recent Posts

  • Cook Islands

Annual Cook Islands League in Paradise 9s kicks off this Friday

The first major competition of 2024 kicks off this Friday when the 2024 Cook Islands…

2 months ago
  • Australia

Australian Kangaroos name squad for Pacific Championship

The Australian Rugby League has today announced the Australian Kangaroos squad for the upcoming Pacific…

5 months ago
  • Australia

Queensland win opening match of 2023 Origin Series

On June 21, the Queensland Maroons are heading to Suncorp Stadium, intending to secure the…

9 months ago
  • Tonga

Tonga to make historic tour of England

International Rugby League chair Troy Grant has welcomed confirmation of Tonga's historic tour to England…

10 months ago
  • Papua New Guinea

PNGNRL release five year strategic plan

The Papua New Guinea National Rugby League Competition (PNG NRLC) this week launched its new…

10 months ago
  • New Zealand

Counties Manukau win 2023 NZRL National U20s Ruben Wiki Cup Final

The Counties Manukau Stingrays have been crowned the 2023 NZRL National 20s Champions after upsetting…

11 months ago