World Cup

Men’s 2025 World Cup regional qualifiers confirmed

Just over a week since the Australian Kangaroos were crowned World Champions in Manchester, details of IRL regional qualifying tournaments for France 2025 have now been finalised.

Brazil will join Canada, Jamaica and the United States in the 2023 Americas Championship after winning the 2022 South Americas Championship played in Columbia last weekend.

With the World Cup having concluded a week earlier, International Rugby League is able to confirm the number of berths each region will have at France 2025 and the qualifying process for eligible nations.

In the Men’s World Cup, Asia-Pacific will have six berths, Europe will have six berths, the Americas will have two berths and Middle East Africa will have one berth.

The 16th berth will be awarded to the winner of an inter-regional repechage between Cook Islands and the winner of the 2023 MEA Cup contested by Ghana and Nigeria and South Africa.

Australia, England, Fiji, Lebanon, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Tonga automatically qualify after reaching the quarterfinals of RLWC2021 in England.

As the host nation, France also automatically qualifies for the 2025 World Cup.

All eight quarterfinalists at RLWC2021 – Australia, Samoa, New Zealand, England, Lebanon, Tonga, Fiji and Papua New Guinea – automatically qualify for France 2025, along with France, as the host nation.

France automatically qualify as the host nation

The regional berth allocation, confirmed in March, is:

  • EUROPE (6-8 berths)
  • ASIA-PACIFIC (5-7 berths)
  • AMERICAS (2 berths)
  • MIDDLE EAST/AFRICA (1-2 berths)

Teams already qualified:

  • England
  • France

England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Serbia, Spain and Wales will contest the 2023 European Championship A, to be played in two groups of four.

Qualifying process:
The 2023 European Championship A will act as a route to the 2024 European qualifying tournament for France 2025, which will also include teams from the 2023 European Championship B.

Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Netherlands, Norway and Ukraine will contest the 2023 European Championship B, to be played in two groups of three, for the right to advance to the 2024 European qualifying tournament.

Netherlands qualified for the 2023 European Championship B as 2021 European Championship D winner, ahead of Malta and Turkey, while Czech Republic, which finished second in Euro D, was invited to replace Russia, which has been suspended indefinitely from all international competition.

Teams already qualified:

  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Tonga

Qualifying process
Cook Islands will enter an inter-regional repechage in 2024 for the final berth at France 2025.

Teams already qualified: Nil

Qualifying process:
The two highest placed teams from the 2023 Americas Championship will qualify directly for the 2025 World Cup in France.

The 2023 Americas Championship will be contested by Brazil, Canada, Jamaica and USA after Brazil won the 2022 South American Championship in Colombia on 25-27 November, ahead of Chile and Columbia.

Teams already qualified:

  • Lebanon

Qualifying process:
The highest finishing nation at the 2023 MEA Cup, from South Africa and 2022 MEA Championship finalists, Nigeria and Ghana, will enter an inter-regional repechage in 2024 for the final berth at France 2025.

Recent Posts

  • Cook Islands

Cook Islands League in Paradise 9s kicks off Friday

The first major competition of 2023 kicks off this Friday when the 2023 Cook Islands…

3 weeks ago
  • Brazil

Brazil win 2022 South American Championship and spot at Americas Cup

Brazil has confirmed its place at the 2023 Americas Cup – one step closer to…

2 months ago
  • Brazil

Mercy dash for beers with the boys may turn into career highlight

Rugby league player Alcino Amato has demonstrated Brazil’s new-found passion for the sport, dropping everything…

2 months ago
  • Chile

Chile emerges from bruising battle with crucial win

Courage was the order of the day as Chile and Colombia clashed on the second…

2 months ago
  • Brazil

South American boilover alters 2025 World Cup calculations

Photo: Jonatan Torres Brasil has overcome the odds to record their first-ever victory against continental…

2 months ago
  • Fiji

Army Bears secure 2022 Fiji Ratu Sukuna Bowl

A Peni Tuberi field goal in the final minutes of the match has proved the…

2 months ago