Skip to main content

Rugby League World Cup 2021 (RLWC2021) is delighted to announce the panellists who vote on which players make up the RLWC2021 Teams of the Tournament.

There will be four Teams of the Tournament in total, with one for each for the men’s, women’s and wheelchair formats, along with a unified ‘Dream Team’. This will comprise of players from all three tournaments, alongside one selected representative from the Physical Disability Rugby League showcase event.

The three Teams of the Tournament will be announced in the final week of fixtures, with the Dream Team to be revealed Thursday 17 November, ahead of the three tournament finals taking place.

Players will receive a special memento to mark their selection onto one or more of the Teams.

Jon Dutton, RLWC2021 Chief Executive, said:

“We really wanted to acknowledge and celebrate the depth of talent competing in the biggest, best and most inclusive world cup the sport of rugby league has ever seen, so the concept of ‘Teams of the Tournament’ was born.

“We have worked hard behind the scenes to unite expert independent panels, led by IRL Chair Tony Grant. They will now determine the process of how they will vote and maintain dialogue throughout the tournament so that any decision making is fair and thorough.

“I would like to thank everyone involved for volunteering their time to support this initiative and I look forward to finding out who makes selection for the four RLWC2021 Teams of the Tournament.”

RLWC2021 Teams of the Tournament Panel Members:

Chair; Troy Grant

Secretary: Nigel Wood

Kyle Amor (Irish Rugby League Legend and Broadcaster)

Brian Barwick OBE (RLWC2021 President)

Jenna Brooks (Broadcaster)

Brenda Dobek (GB Rugby League Legend)

Nabil El Khedri (France2025)

Lois Forsell (England Rugby League Legend + RLWC2021 Ambassador)

Martyn Gill (Wheelchair Coach)

Honey Hireme-Smiler (NZ Rugby League Legend + RLWC2021 Ambasador)

Mary Konstantopoulos (Journalist)

Ian Laybourn (Journalist)

Julia Lee (GB Rugby League Legend)

Martin Norris (England Wheelchair Rugby League Legend)

Danika Priim (Broadcaster)

Jason Robinson (England Rugby League Legend + RLWC2021 Ambassador)

Brad Walter (IRL Media Manager)

Mike Wood (Journalist)

Dave Woods (Journalist and Broadcaster