Skip to main content

England Head Coach Shaun Wane has named a 22-player squad for Friday night’s match against Fiji at the AJ Bell Stadium in Salford – both teams’ last hit-out before the start of the Rugby League World Cup next weekend.

The squad includes 18 members of the 24-strong World Cup squad Wane named last Friday, and Wane has added Liam Marshall, Sam Powell, Harry Smith and Jake Wardle to increase his rotation options.

Two members of St Helens’ winning team from the Betfred Super League Grand Final – Joe Batchelor and Jack Welsby – are included in the 22, and all six NRL-based players in the World Cup squad are also set to feature.

With England’s World Cup captain Sam Tomkins not included, Wane will announce the captain for the match in the next 24 hours.

In addition to Tomkins and John Bateman, who is unavailable this weekend as he serves the second game in a three-match suspension imposed following Wigan’s Super League Play-Off defeat by Leeds Rhinos, the other four World Cup squad players not included were all involved in the Grand Final – Morgan Knowles, Matty Lees and Tommy Makinson of St Helens, and Mikolaj Oledzki of Leeds.

The match will be streamed live on the newly rebranded RLWC2021 app.

England squad to play Fiji, Friday October 7

Andy Ackers
Joe Batchelor
Tom Burgess
Mike Cooper
Herbie Farnworth
Ryan Hall
Chris Hill
Liam Marshall
Michael McIlorum
Mike McMeeken
Kai Pearce-Paul
Sam Powell
Victor Radley
Harry Smith
Marc Sneyd
Luke Thompson
Jake Wardle
Kallum Watkins
Jack Welsby
Elliott Whitehead
George Williams
Dom Young