Skip to main content

Kiwi Ferns head coach Ricky Henry has confirmed his squad for the Rugby League World Cup next month which includes 2022 NRLW Dally M medallist Raecene McGregor.

Following on from winning the 2021 NRLW Premiership with the Sydney Roosters earlier this year, McGregor dominated this season leading with 10 try assists.

She was also the club’s first player to pick up Halfback of the Year in the NRLW Team of the Year.

Also selected in the squad was dual-code star Shanice Parker who took part in this year’s NRLW Grand Final for the Newcastle Knights against the Parramatta Eels.

Brisbane’s powerhouse props Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala, Amber-Paris Hall and Brianna Clark bolster an already strong forward pack alongside their teammate Crystal Tamarua.

Tamarua made a remarkable comeback to the game this year from an ankle injury that forced her to withdraw from last season with the Titans.

Gold Coast star winger Madison Bartlett and lock Georgia Hale were also named, while their fullback Apii Nicholls earned the call-up after a two-year hiatus, alongside potential debutants Otesa Pule (Sydney Roosters) and Mele Hufanga.

Kiwi Fern veterans Krystal Rota, Nita Maynard and Charlotte Scanlan return to the roster, while Katelyn Vaha’akolo, Karli Hansen and Mya Hill-Moana, who all earned their Kiwi Fern debuts in 2020 against Fetu Samoa join them.

Among the standouts returning from this year’s June Test v Mate Ma’a Tonga are Page McGregor, Laishon Albert-Jones, Christyl Stowers, Autumn-Rain Stephens Daly, Roxy Murdoch-Masila, Kararaina Wira-Kohu and Hailee-jay Ormond-Maunsell.

“We’re excited about the players we’ve listed based on their current form,” Henry said.

“The vast majority are fresh off NRLW campaigns adding plenty of experience to the mix of leaders and new talent.

“I’m really looking forward to seeing how we compete against top-tier international teams over in York and I want to congratulate each member of the squad on this achievement of representing our country at the World Cup.”

The Kiwi Ferns were listed in Group B and will meet France in Round 1 on Wednesday, November 2 at 5.00pm local time followed by the Cook Islands (November 6) and Australia (November 10).

New Zealand Kiwi Ferns Squad:
Amber-Paris Hall (Brisbane Broncos), Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala (Brisbane Broncos), Apii Nicholls (Gold Coast Titans), Autumn-Rain Stephens Daly (Newcastle Knights), Brianna Clark (Brisbane Broncos), Charlotte Scanlan (Point Chevalier Pirates), Christyl Stowers (Manurewa Marlins), Crystal Tamarua (Brisbane Broncos), Georgia Hale (Gold Coast Titans), Hailee-Jay Ormond-Maunsell (Gold Coast Titans), Kararaina Wira-Kohu (Manurewa Marlins), Karli Hansen (Tweed Head Seagulls), Katelyn Vaha’akolo (Point Chevalier Pirates), Krystal Rota (Manurewa Marlins), Laishon Albert-Jones (Point Chevalier Pirates), Madison Bartlett (Gold Coast Titans), Mele Hufanga (Ponsonby Ponies), Mya Hill-Moana (Sydney Roosters), Nita Maynard (Brisbane Broncos), Otesa Pule (Sydney Roosters), Page McGregor (St George Illawarra Dragons), Raecene McGregor (Sydney Roosters), Roxy Murdoch-Masila (Gold Coast Titans), Shanice Parker (Newcastle Knights).