Skip to main content

The inaugural Fiji National Rugby League Women’s Finals Series kicks off this weekend at Lawaqa Park with the top eight teams confirmed for this weekend’s National Quarter Finals.

Eleven clubs took part in the respective State Championships over the past month to decide the Quarter Finalists, with the top four teams from the Eastern and Western State regions qualifying.

The Finals Series will be played over three weeks, with all matches Elimination Finals.

FNRL acting chief executive officer Don Natabe, expressed his excitement for the inaugural Finals kicking off this weekend.

“We acknowledge and thank all eleven clubs and their women for their participation in their respective State Championships as part of the national qualifying matches to this Saturday’s FNRLW showdown.

“The strong interest of our clubs and their resilience to be able to operate in a challenging business environment is commendable and we want to acknowledge the communities that support the clubs morally and financially.

“The FNRLW competition provides a pathway for women and girls a platform for selecting the finest female athletes for rep programs like the Vanua State of Origin, Melanesian Cup, and international tour rep programs.”

Saturday’s Quarter Finals kick off with the Yasawa Saints facing Vusu Raiders in the opening game at 10am.

The Lami Steelers will then face the Police Sharks White at 11:15am, before the Burenitu Cowboys play the USP Raiders at 12:30pm.

The final quarter Final will be between Police Sharks Blue and the Ba Eagles at 1:45pm.

The winners of the finals will progress to next week’s Semi Finals at Prince Charles Park.