Skip to main content

The Queensland Rugby League has today confirmed the Queensland Maroons squad for Game II of the State of Origin series against the New South Wales Blues.

With Game I squad members Xavier Coates, Reuben Cotter and Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow all unavailable for selection due to injury, Maroons selectors have called Corey Oates (Brisbane Broncos), Beau Fermor (Gold Coast Titans) and Reece Walsh (Warriors) into the 22-player squad.

Oates has played eight Origin games for the Maroons, while Walsh and Fermor are now a step closer to taking the field for the Maroons for the first time after gaining selection in the extended squad.

It is a welcome return to Camp Maroon for Walsh, who was set to debut at fullback in Game II of last year’s series before a hamstring injury forced him out.

Cowboys flyer Murray Taulagi replaces Coates on the wing, while Lindsay Collins gets an opportunity in the starting side with Jai Arrow the new player on the interchange bench.

Game II of the series will be played at Optus Stadium in Perth on Sunday.

Queensland Maroons
Kalyn Ponga – Newcastle Knights
Selwyn Cobbo – Brisbane Broncos
Valentine Holmes – North Queensland Cowboys
Dane Gagai – Newcastle Knight
Murray Taulagi – North Queensland Cowboys
Cameron Munster – Melbourne Storm
Daly Cherry-Evans – Manly Sea Eagles
Lindsay Collins – Sydney Roosters
Ben Hunt – St George Illawarra Dragons
Josh Papalii – Canberra Raiders
Kurt Capewell – Brisbane Broncos
Felise Kaufusi – Melbourne Storm
Tino Fa’asuamaleaui – Gold Coast Titans
Harry Grant – Melbourne Storm
Jai Arrow – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Patrick Carrigan – Brisbane Broncos
Jeremiah Nanai – North Queensland Cowboys
Tom Dearden – North Queensland Cowboys
Thomas Flegler – Brisbane Broncos
Beau Fermor – Gold Coast Titans
Corey Oates – Brisbane Broncos
Reece Walsh – Warriors