Skip to main content

The Farrelly Photos Women’s Premiership kicks off this Sunday with an increase to eight teams competing for the title this season.

Premiership newcomers Taniwharau, Otara, Otahuhu and Howick will join the returning teams of Manurewa, Pt Chevalier, Ponsonby, and Richmond in 2022.

Taniwharau are looking to build on their strong 2021 campaign which saw them top the Women’s Championship grade. They will face off against Otahuhu in the first round where both teams will look to set the bar for the season ahead.

The standout game of the round is the Richmond Roses clashing with defending champion Pt Chevalier Pirates on home turf. Pt Chevalier will look to get their campaign off to a strong start in a bid to go back-to-back.

The battle at Grey Lynn Park is sure to be a thriller as NRLW players return to the Auckland sides.

Richmond Bulldogs v Pt Chev Pirates
Otahuhu Leopards v Taniwharau
Horwick v Ponsonby
Manurewa v Otara Scorpions