Skip to main content

The Queensland Rugby League is pleased to announce its Under 18 Emerging Origin squad as part of the elite Queensland pathways program.

Head coach Guy Williams will manage a 30-member squad throughout a two-day training camp at the Queensland Sports and Athletics Centre (QSAC) in Brisbane on May 7-8.

The Emerging Origin program aims to help develop highly skilled rugby league players for Queensland representation.

Williams, a former Hostplus Cup player and coach with the Central Queensland Capras, will be supported by experienced staff who will coach and mentor some of the state’s most talented male players.

The Under 18 squad includes 11 players who have been named to play in Sunday’s Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup grand final between the Townsville Blackhawks and Souths Logan Magpies.

The Blackhawks players selected are Sean Bourke, Zack Lamont, Damon Marshall, Tekelu Mene, Jamal Shibasaki, Elekana Suavai and Wil Sullivan.

Fellow Emerging Origin squad members Lourace Brown, Stanley Huen, Israel Leota and Devonte Vaivela will be on show for the Magpies, who are coming off a 26-24 victory over the Norths Devils.

Townsville qualified for the decider on the back of a 38-14 semi-final victory over the Sunshine Coast Falcons.

The performances of both the Devils and Falcons caught the eye of selectors, with eight players across the two clubs named in the Under 18 squad as well.

A number of eligible players were not included in the 18s squad announced today as they will be part of the Queensland 19s Origin training squad to be announced next week

QRL Under 18 Emerging Origin squad
Tory Bath (Norths Devils)
Sean Bourke (Townsville Blackhawks)
Lourace Brown (Souths Logan Magpies)
Antioch Faitala (Brisbane Tigers)
EJ Finau (Burleigh Bears)
Arama Hau (Burleigh Bears)
Stanley Huen (Souths Logan Magpies)
Ryan Jackson (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)
Mitchell Jennings (Sunshine Coast Falcons)
Xavier Kerrisk (Mackay Cutters)
Zack Lamont (Townsville Blackhawks)
Liam Le Blance (Norths Devils)
Israel Leota (Souths Logan Magpies)
Damon Marshall (Townsville Blackhawks)
Haizyn Mellars (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)
Tekelu Mene (Townsville Blackhawks)
Seth Nikotemo (Burleigh Bears)
Karl Oloapu (Norths Devils)
Baden Robinson (Mackay Cutters)
Mitchell Rogers (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Joseph Shannon (Burleigh Bears)
Jamal Shibasaki (Townsville Blackhawks)
Elekana Suavai (Townsville Blackhawks)
Wil Sullivan (Townsville Blackhawks)
Tyreece Tait (Norths Devils)
Jeremy Trappett (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)
Darcy Turner (Norths Devils)
Jack Underhill (Sunshine Coast Falcons)
Devonte Vaivela (Souths Logan Magpies)
Kallum Weatherall (Norths Devils)