Skip to main content

The Tupapa-Maraerenga Panthers have won the opening round of Cook Islands Women’s Premiership after the club defeated competition newcomers, the Avatiu-Nikao Eels 36 – 8.

Last year’s runners up were too strong for the Eels at Aretere Park, with new forwards, Renee Peraua, Lilyana Mataitini, Mikayla Trego and Sandy Cook dominating the experienced home team.

Round Two of the competition will see defending Premiers, the Titikaveka Bulldogs, host the Arorangi Bears at Teimurimotia Park.

The 2022 Cook Islands Women’s Premiership will feature four teams. The Titikaveka Bulldogs won the 2021 Women’s Premiership and 2022 Women’s Nines.