Skip to main content

Photo: Wamesii Photography

Ialibu II Imbokeris has run winners in the 2021/22 O’Neil Cup after defeated Pangia II Wamenes 16 – 10 in Saturday’s Grand Final in Pangia.

Taking place at Pangia Station Oval, little could seperate the two teams in the opening forty minutes with Ialibu II holding a tight 8 – 6 lead at halftime. Ialibu II extended their lead early in the second half with two quick to race out 16 – 6 lead, before Pangia hit back to set up a thrilling final quarter.

Despite repeated raids from the Wamenes, the Imbokeris held on to record the win.

The O’Neil Cup is an off-season competition named after former PNG Prime Minister and member for the Ialibu-Pangia District, Peter O’Neil, runs for four months featuring clubs from across Papua New Guinea’s Southern Highlands.

IALIBU II IMBOKERIS 16 (Tries: Joshua Pima, Norman Mambo, Manu Nicklam, Peter Pless) defeated PANGIA WAMENES II 10 (Tries: Micheal Mike, Pele Kambi Goals: Noris Philemon)