Skip to main content

The annual Cook Islands ‘League in Paradise’ Nines tournament is set to kick off this Thursday in the largest version of the event since it’s inception.

Taking place at BCI Stadium in Avarua, the 2022 event will run for three days and with Men’s, Women’s and Under 18’s all taking part.

Teams set to take part include the Tupapa Maraerenga Panthers, Avatiu Eels, Arorangi Bears, Ngatangiia Matavera Sea Eagles, Titikaveka Bulldogs and Aitutaki Sharks.

The 2021 ‘League in Paradise’ Men’s title was won by the Tupapa Maraerenga Panthers who defeated the Avatiu Eels 34 – 26 in the Final.

The Women’s title was won by Rarotonga who defeated the Tupapa Maraerenga Panthers 11 – 8.

This will be the first time an Under 18s leg has been added to the tournament.