Skip to main content

The second annual Central Dabaris Agarobe Nines Challenge will adopt a new format after COVID-19 forced the cancellation of the satellite tournaments.

Originally the tournament was set to feature 12 satellite tournaments plus Finals across Papua New Guinea’s Central Province, running over November and December, but instead will now just feature one event over three days.

The new structure will allow teams from across the province enter, with a maximum of 24 Men’s teams to take part (capped at a maximum of four teams per LLG).

The tournament will run from February 2 – 5 and take place at Sir John Guise Stadium in Port Moresby.

In addition, a Women’s and School’s tournament will be added, with 12 and 16 teams set to take part.

The 2020 tournament was won by the Koiari Gogeas who defeated the Porebada Bulldogs 36 – 18 at Bava Park in Port Moresby.