Skip to main content

The 2021 Vanuatu domestic representative season is set to be the largest on record, with the Vanuatu Rugby League announcing the format of the inaugural Province Blo Origin series.

The new look Representative competition will see five Men’s team and three Women’s sides play off over three days, expanding on the old Vanuatu Origin concept between the Port Vila Fireants and Santo Boars.

The participants in the Men’s competition will be the Malampa province, who will represent players from the islands of Malakula, Ambrym and Paama, Penanma province, who will represent the islands of Ambae, Maewo and Pentecost, Sanma Province, who will represent Espiritu Santo and Malo, and hosts, the Shefa Province, who will represent the islands of Epi and Efate.

There will also be a Port Vila Barbarians team, designed to represent players from the Tafea and Torba provinces, as well as players who miss out on the other four sides.

The Women’s competition will feature representative teams from Penama, Malampa and Shefa.

The tournament will take place on December 5.