Skip to main content

Northern Confederate are the 2021 Under 18s Kumul Petroleum National Schools Rugby League Champions after they successfully defeated New Guinea Islands in Friday’s Final.

After losing the opening match of the tournament to the Highlands, Northern won their next three matches, including a 12 – 0 victory over the Islands side to claim the title.

Papua New Guinea’s premier Schools competition will feature four divisions in 2021, Under 14s Boys, Under 16s Boys, Under 18s Boys and Under 18s Girls, with representative teams from the four PNG Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) Confederations (Northern, Southern, New Guinea Islands and Highlands) taking part in each.

New Guinea Islands 6 defeated Southern 2
Highlands 10 defeated Northern 4

New Guinea Islands 10 defeated Highlands 4
Northern 10 defeated Southern 0

Northern 14 defeated New Guinea Islands 4
Highlands 10 defeated Southern 4

Third Place Play-Off:
Highlands 5 defeated Southern 4

Grand Final:
Northern 12 – 0 New Guinea Islands