Skip to main content

Rugby League is set to return to South Africa this November, with the South African Rugby League announcing its provisional dates for the 2021-22 domestic season.

Due to COVID-19, the South African Rugby League has been unable to run any domestic activities since March 2020 and will be working towards a November 1st restart, with the season to run until March 2022.

The 2021-22 club championship will feature at least eleven clubs, with fourteen already applying to the South African Rugby League Sports Association (SARLSA) to take part in the competition.

From the Gauteng region, National Champions, the University of Pretoria Tuks, will be joined by the Brits Bulldogs, Silverton Silverbacks, Tuine Grizzlies, St Helens Vultures and Pretoria Bulls. Whilst from the the Limpopo / Mapumalanga, the Middelburg Rabbitohs, Emerlo Tomahawks, Witbank Knights, Marble Hall Leopards and Spartans have all been approved.

Three clubs are still having their applications being reviewed by the SARLSA, these are the Elsberg Bears, EP Dragons and EP Titans.