Skip to main content

The Parntu Warriors are the 2021 Men’s Outback Rugby League Champions after they defeated cross-town rivals, the Boomerangs, in an all-Wilcannia affair in last weekend’s Grand Final at Broken Hill’s Memorial Oval.

Lead by halfback Victor Ward, the Warriors upset competition Minor Premiers, the Boomerangs, 32 – 24 in front of a COVID capacity crowd in Broken Hill.

In the Women’s Grand Final, the Wilcannia Wildflowers beat the Menindee Twisted Sisters 48 – 8 with the Wildflowers’ Amber Evans awarded Player of the Match.

The result meant that both competition trophies will reside in the Central Darling Shire town for the next twelve months at least.

The Outback Rugby League was established in 2007 and features teams from Broken Hill, Wilcannia and Menindee. It runs competitions from Juniors and Open Age.

Men’s Grand Final

Wilcannia Parntu Warriors 32 – 24 Wilcannia Boomerangs

Women’s Grand Final
Wilcannia Wildflowers 48 – 8 Menindee Twisted Sisters