Skip to main content

The Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League has confirmed that the National Club Championship competition is set to return in 2021, with the competition Finals scheduled for late November.

Last played in 2019, the National Club Championship features the top clubs from each of the respective PNGRFL Affiliated Leagues playing in a knock-out style tournament to declare the National Club Champions.

Under the draw presented by the PNGRFL, each of the affiliated Leagues will be expected to finish their respective club competitions by September 25 with the respective Champions to play in the Provincial Championships over early October.

The winners of the Provincial Championships will progress to their respective Confederate Championships in early November before the four Confederate Champions play in the National Club Championship on November 26 – 28.

The last National Club Championships was won by the Lae 14B Pirates (Northern Confederate) who defeated the Port Moresby Kama Kopi Brothers (Southern Confederate) 12 – 10 in the Finals at Lae.

In the third place play-off, the Mt Hagen Kui Raiders (Highlands Confederate) defeated the Kokopo Takubar Brothers (New Guinea Islands Confederate) 15 – 14.