Skip to main content

The NSW Blues have announced three debutants in a 19-man squad for the opening game of the Ampol State of Origin series to face the Queensland Maroons on Wednesday 9 June.

Penrith Panthers five-eighth Jarome Luai, who was part of the NSW Blues extended squad for last year’s series, winger Brian To’o and back-rower Liam Martin have all been named in the squad.

“I’m really happy with the squad we’ve announced to face the Maroons for the opening game of the series,” Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues coach Brad Fittler said.

“We’ve got a good mix of players from in-form teams and players who have worn the NSW Blues jumper with distinction in the past and never let their state down.

“I’m looking forward to working with all the players in camp and I’m confident our preparation will stand us in good stead to try and win back the Origin Shield.”

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco, who was appointed as vice-captain in 2019, has been announced as captain for the series. Halfback Nathan Cleary has been appointed vice-captain.

The squad also includes two emergency players in Apisai Koroisau and Campbell Graham.

1. James Tedesco (c) (Sydney Roosters)
2. B To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
4. Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
5. Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne Storm)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
8. Daniel Saifiti (Newcastle Knights)
9. Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
10. Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
11. Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
12. Tariq Sims (St George Illawarra Dragons)
13. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)

14. Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
15. Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels)
16. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
17. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)

18. Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers)
19. Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Coach: Brad Fittler