Skip to main content

The 2021 Southland Summer Rugby League is set to kick off next weekend at Elles Road Park in Invercargill, with the competition to run a Second Division for the first time.

New Zealand’s southernmost competition, the 2021 Summer competition will feature clubs He Tauaa Eagles, Cooks, Invercargill Panthers and the Lone Star Cowboys in the competition First Division which will run from late January until early April.

Second Division will run each week of the regular season with three clubs committing players to the concept.

The Southland Rugby League looks after the development of the code in the Southland District of New Zealand, and often runs joint competitions with the Otago district in the Winter. The 2020 Summer League Grand Final was set to be between the the Lone Star Cowboys and He Tauaa Eagles but was called off due to COVID.

The Cowboys have featured in the last five Grand Finals. The Invercargill Panthers are the newest club to the competition, entering an Open Age team for the first time in 2020.

30th January:
He Tauaa Eagles v Cooks
Invercargill Panthers v Lone Star Cowboys

13th February:
Cooks v Invercargill Panthers
Lone Star Cowboys v He Tauaa Eagles

20th February:
He Tauaa Eagles v Invercargill Panthers
Lone Star Cowboys v Cooks

27th February:
Lone Star Cowboys v Invercargill Panthers
Cooks v He Tauaa Eagles

6th March:
He Tauaa Eagles v Lone Star Cowboys
Invercargill Panthers v Cooks

13th March:
Cooks v Lone Star Cowboys
Invercargill Panthers v He Tauaa Eagles

20th March:
Minor Semi Final: 3rd Place v 4th Place (Runners Up Eliminated)
Major Semi Final: 1st Place v 2nd Place (Winner progresses to Grand Final)

27th March:
Preliminary Final: Minor Semi Final Winner v Major Semi Final Runners Up

6th April:
Grand Final