Skip to main content

Rugby League heads to the southern Indian state of Karnataka later this month when the city of Bengaluru (Bangalore) hosts Rugby League India’s second official event day.

Following a highly successful launch event late last year in the West Bengal city of Kolkata (formerly Calcutta), the code will be taken to the opposite side of the sub-continent as Rugby League India launches its four regional associations.

The event in Bengaluru will take place on Saturday, January 30 and will feature four local junior teams.

Matches will be played at SPT Sports Academy in Sarjapur.

Rugby League India was established in early 2020 to help with the development of Rugby League across the nation. The Federation has established regional associations in West Bengal, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Jammu & Kashmir.

It’s inaugural launch event was won by the Kolkata based Jaguars who defeated the Panthers 9 – 8 in the Final.