Skip to main content

Kendal Tarangau and the Swamp Cowboys have been named joint winners of the 2020 Ialibu Rugby League Premier Division after the Grand Final finished in a scoreless draw.

Digicel Cup forwards, Nathan Tanu (Mendi Muruks) and Philemon Kimisive (Central Dabaris), lead Tarangau and the Cowboys respectively into the Southern Highlands Final, but weren’t able to help their teams across the try line.

Ialibu League president Thomas Undupie thanked all the 20 clubs that competed in the 2020 season.

“It is uncommon to complete grand finals in the Highlands” Undupie said.

“But we maintained our peace and love for the game, and I thank all our supporters for ensuring a successful season.”

Undupie said despite the Covid-19 pandemic, they were fortunate to complete the season.

“In 2019, we completed our season and we did it again in 2020”

Undupie said the league had introduced its women’s division in 2017.

“We continue to make progress each year and the new season will be no different”

“Our women are continuing to improve and we are happy with their progress.”

In the Women’s Final, the Swamp Cowboys defeated Kendal Tarangau 4 – 0, whilst the Koromi Tigers edged Kana Souths 5 – 4 in the Under-20s Grand Final.

Premier Division Grand Final:

Kendal Tarangau 0 – 0 Swamp Cowboys

Women’s Grand Final:
Swamp Cowboys 4 – 0 Kendal Tarangau

Under 20s Grand Final:
Koromi Tigers 5 – 4 Kana Souths