Skip to main content

The Butterflies have upset the Kone Tigers to qualify for Sunday’s Port Moresby Rugby Football League Grand Final at the Oil Search National Football Stadium.

Trailing 14 – 6 heading in the final quarter of the match, the Butterflies scored 10 unanswered points to secure their spot in the Final, ending the Kone Tigers previously undefeated season. The match up between Tarangau and the Butterflies is a repeat of the 2014 Port Moresby Grand Final.

In the other Men’s Preliminary Final, Tarangau ended the Paga Panthers campaign, winning 18 – 8, whilst in the Women’s Major Semi Final, Moresby South defeated the Sisters club 26 – 10.

Moresby South will now face the Paga Panthers in the Women’s Final.

The Under 20’s Final will be an all Kone affair, with the Kone Tigers to face the Kone Storm.

Men’s Premiership:

Butterflies 16 – 14 Kone Tigers
Tarangau 18 – 8 Paga Panthers

Women’s Premiership:
Moresby South 26 – 10 Sisters

U20’s Premiership:
Kone Tigers 16 – 12 Moresby South
Kone Storm 20 – 8 Royals

Men’s Premiership:

Tarangau v Butterflies

Women’s Premiership:
Paga Panthers v Moresby South

U20’s Premiership:
Kone Tigers v Kone Storm