Skip to main content

The 2020 Papua New Guinea Rugby League Digicel Cup is set to be one of the strongest seasons in recent times, with a host of senior players returning to the competition.

Following the cancellation of the Intrust Super Cup for 2020, players from the PNG Hunters will return to the various Digicel Cup franchises to keep match fit until preparations for the 2021 season start with the Mendi Muruks, Waghi Tumbe and the Port Moresby Vipers being the big winners.

Mendi Muruks coach Roderick Puname has secured the services of Hunters pair Stanton Albert and Roy Ellison, and Central Queensland Capras forward McKenzie Yei, whilst the Vipers have secured Stargroth Amean, Enoch Maki, Shane Haro, Kevin Appo, Patrick Morea and Brandon Gotuno.

The Waghi Tumbe have added Baundo Aba, Emmanuel Waine, Casey Dickson and Joe Frank to their squad, whilst Edwin Ipape from the Canterbury Premiership NSW has re-joined the Lae Tigers.

The PNG National Rugby League Competition, the Digicel Cup, is currently aiming to return on July 4.