Skip to main content

The Arorangi Bears have won the first piece of Rugby League silverware on offer in 2020 after they took out the Bishop’s Cruises Cook Islands Rugby League Nines over the weekend.

Taking place at BCI Stadium in Rarotonga over Saturday and Sunday, the Bears emerged victorious after defeating the Avatiu Eels 10 – 0 in the tournament Final. Qualifying for the Final, the Eels defeated the defending champions, the Tupapa Panthers 14 – 12 in a tense Semi-Final, whilst the Bears were too strong for the Titikaveka Bulldogs.

The Aitutaki Sharks finished the tournament in fifth after defeating the Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 22 – 20 in the Place Play-Off.

Also taking part in the Nines was the inaugural Women’s Town v Country Nines series. In the three match event, the Town side won 2 – 1.

Women’s Series:
Town 20 defeated Country 8
Town 14 defeated Country 12
Country 14 defeated Town 4

Group Stages:

Tupapa Panthers 14 defeated Aitutaki Sharks 0
Avatiu Eels 14 lost to Arorangi Bears 16
Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 12 lost to Titikaveka Bulldogs 34
Tupapa Panthers 6 drew with Arorangi Bears 6
Aitutaki Sharks 14 lost to Titikaveka Bulldogs 26
Avatiu Eels 24 defeated Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 8
Tupapa Panthers 22 defeated Titikaveka Bulldogs 14
Arorangi Bears 14 defeated Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 4
Aitutaki Sharks 20 lost to Avatiu Eels 28

Tupapa Panthers 40 defeated Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 0
Avatiu Eels 20 defeated Titikaveka Bulldogs 0
Aitutaki Sharks 8 lost to Arorangi Bears 14
Tupapa Panthers 8 lost to Avatiu Eels 20
Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 18 defeated Aitutaki Sharks 14
Titikaveka Bulldogs 12 lost to 30 Arorangi Bears

Fifth Place Play-Off:
Aitutaki Sharks 22 defeated Ngatangiia – Matavera Sea Eagles 20

Semi Finals:
Arorangi Bears 28 defeated Titikaveka Bulldogs 16
Avatiu Eels 14 defeated Tupapa Panthers 12

Third Place Play-Off:
Tupapa Panthers 22 defeated Titikaveka Bulldogs 14

Arorangi Bears 10 defeated Avatiu Eels 0