Skip to main content

Northern Confederates champions Lae 14B Pirates are the inaugural 2019 MRDC National Club Champions when they edged out Southern Confederate premiers Port Moresby Kama Kopi Brothers 12-10 at the Lae Rugby League ground this afternoon – Saturday November 30.

Pirates led 12 – 4 at half time. The home side also receive K15,000 prizemoney while Brothers get K10,000.

Lae 14B Pirates 12 (Willie Tusa, Sanny Wabo tries, Mafu Kalas 2 goals) def Port Moresby Kama Kopi Brother 10 (Sidney Koi, Tony Wemin tries, Ben Wemin goal). Man of the Match – Sanny Wabo (Lae Pirates).

In an exciting finish in the first game for 3rd place, Mt Hagen Kui Raiders Raiven Jonah kicked a field goal in extra time to beat Kokopo Takubar Brothers 15 – 14.

The scores were locked at 8- all at half time and 14- all after the regular 80 minutes at fulltime.

Mt Hagen Kui Raiders win K5,000 while Kokopo Takubar Brothers take home K3,000. Man of the Match – Nickson Waki (Mt Hagen Kui Raiders)

The four clubs also received K10,000 each for winning their Confederate champions title.

PNGRFL Chairman Sandis Tsaka when presenting the National Club Championships Shield to Lae 14B Pirates congratulated the four clubs for taking part in the revived National Club Championship concept.

“It was a huge success and I commend you all for taking part in this inaugural National Club Championships,” Tsaka said.

He said due to this success by bringing the champion clubs from the four confederates, the National Club Championships will be extended to the Women and Under 20s teams.

“We will include the Women and under 20s teams to participate,” Tsaka said.

“Like the format used for the men’s, the grand final winning Women and Under 20s teams in their leagues will play elimination games within their Confederates and the champion teams will represent their respective Confederates at the Women’s and Under 20s National Club Championships starting next year.”

The award Winners at the 2019 National Club Championships were: Best Back – Sonny Wabo – Lae Pirates (Northern) Best Forward – Nick Bafike Kolopa – Kokopo Takubar Brothers (NGI) Top Try Scorer – Junior Ragi (3) – Kokopo Takubar Brothers (NGI) Player of the Tournament – Ben Wemin – Port Moresby Kama Kopi Brothers (Southern).