Skip to main content

Defending champions, Papua New Guinea, will take on 2015 Pacific Games Bronze Medalist, Tonga, in the opening game of the Men’s Rugby Leagues Nines kicks off at the Pacific Games in Apia this July.

The Men’s Nines event will be the only the third time Rugby League has been an official Medal event at the Pacific Games and will feature a record seven nations with Fiji, Solomon Islands, Cook Islands and Tokelau all joining hosts Samoa.

Matches will take place at Apia Park Stadium, with both the Men’s and Women’s group games to take place on Monday, July 8, before Finals on Tuesday, July 9.

Full draw for the event is available below.

Pool A:

Papua New Guinea

Pool B:
Solomon Islands
Cook Islands

Monday, July 8:
Game 1: Tonga v Papua New Guinea – 1:55pm
Game 2: Fiji v Samoa – 2:20pm
Game 3: Cook Islands v Tokelau – 2:45pm
Game 4: Cook Islands v Solomon Islands – 4:00pm
Game 5: Winner Game 1 v Winner Game 2 – 4:25pm
Game 6: Runners Up Game 1 v Runners Up Game 2 – 4:55pm
Game 7: Tokelau v Solomon Islands – 6:10pm
Game 8: Pool A 1st v Pool A 2nd – 6:35pm (Winner = 1st, Runners Up = 2nd)
Game 9: Pool A 4th v Pool B 1st – 7:00pm (Winner = 4th, Runners Up = 5th)
Game 10: Pool A 3rd v Pool B 2nd – 7:25pm (Winner = 3rd, Runners Up = 6th)

Tuesday, July 9:
Game 11: 5th Ranked v 6th Ranked – 2:55pm
Game 12: 6th Ranked v 7th Ranked – 3:45pm
Game 13: 1st Ranked v 4th Ranked – 4:10pm
Game 14: 2nd Ranked v 3rd Ranked – 4:35pm
Game 15: 5th Ranked v 7th Ranked – 5:00pm

Game 16: Runners Up Game 14 v Runners Up Game 13 – 6:00pm (Bronze Medal Match)
Game 17: Winner Game 13 v Winner Game 14 – 7:00pm (Gold Medal Match)