Skip to main content

Touring team, the Queensland Kukis, have won the 2018 Cook Islands Rugby League Nines after defeating the Arorangi Bears in the tournament final in Rarotonga.

The annual nine-a-side tournament again featured six teams from around Rarotonga, including defending champions, the Avatiu Nikao Eels, plus the TKV Warriors, Tupapa Panthers, Ngatangiia/Matavera Sea Eagles, Titikaveka Bulldogs and eventual finalist, the Arorangi Bears, plus newcomers, the Queensland Kukis.

Played at BCI Stadium, the Queensland Kukis, who featured six players with Queensland Cup experience, held an edge over the local teams in the tournament, going through undefeated and winning the final 10 – 6 over the Bears.

In the other Finals played, the Titikaveka Bulldogs defeated the Avatiu Nikao Eels 17 – 12 in the Third place Play-Off whilst the Tupapa Panthers defeated the TKV Warriors 26 – 8 in the Fifth place Play-Off.