Skip to main content

The Queensland Universities team will take on their NSW counterparts in Coffs Harbour next month after an 18-man squad was announced this week.

The squad was selected from the six teams that compete in the Universities Rugby League Queensland competition – the Queensland University of Technology Trouts (QUT), Griffith Dragons (Griffith), University of Queensland Hounds (UQ), Australian Catholic University (ACU), Griffith Logan Redbacks (Logan) and Griffith Gold Coast Panthers (GUGC).

Former Redcliffe and Souths Logan Queensland Cup coach Gary O’Brien will take charge of the team after overseeing a 40-6 hiding of NSW Universities in the corresponding fixture last year.

The Queensland team will have training runs at Griffith’s Nathan campus in the lead-up to the match that will take place in Coffs Harbour on Saturday, September 23.

But before then, the Queensland reps will face each other in the URLQ finals, with the final round of the competition to take place this Wednesday night.

Queensland Universities Team (alphabetical order)

Dave Ballard (UQ)
Matt Butler (Griffith)
Harry Dickman (GUGC)
Jesse Domic (Griffith)
Cody Feltham (GUGC)
Alex Fites (QUT)
Chris Hansen (UQ)
Dom Heidke (UQ)
Ellis Jensen (GUGC)
Lathan Joseph (Logan)
Richard Kay (QUT)
Ben Kelly (Logan)
Owen McCarron (QUT)
Declan Morrissy (ACU)
Mitch Paesler (ACU)
Letoe Solomona (Logan)
Maverick Sooalo (GUGC)
David Todd (UQ)

Coach: Gary O’Brien
Team Manager: Grant Stephensen
Assistant Manager: Aimee Wildman
Trainer: Henry I’iga
Physiotherapist: Mitch Chad