Skip to main content

By Andy Bryan

Queensland’s 17-year unbeaten streak will go on the line when they clash with New South Wales in the women’s Interstate Challenge at Cbus Super Stadium on Saturday.

While the Maroons have never been beaten last year’s game ended in a draw and the Blues are confident that they can finally wrestle away the interstate trophy.

NSW have named nine Jillaroos including exciting fullback Samantha Bremner and halves combination Allana Ferguson and Maddie Studdon, while their forwards are also formidable with an all-Jillaroo backrow in Kezie Apps, Vanessa Foliaki and captain Ruan Sims.

The Queensland team boasts over 10 Jillaroos and they welcome back superstar five-eighth Ali Brigginshaw who missed the mid-year test due to injury.

Both teams will be looking to capitalise on the growing pathways, fan base and media exposure that women’s rugby league continues to attract.

Fans who purchase tickets to the Titans v Eels match are encouraged to arrive at the ground early to witness the women’s match, with the cost of a ticket including both matches on Saturday.

The women’s Interstate Challenge will kick off at approximately 3:10pm.

NSW Women’s Team
1 Samantha Bremner (Cronulla-Caringbah)
2 Isabelle Kelly (Berkeley Vale)
3 Corban McGregor (Cronulla-Caringbah)
4 Caitlin Moran (Hunter Stars)
5 Nakia Davis-Welsh (Redfern All-Blacks)
6 Allana Ferguson (Cronulla-Caringbah)
7 Maddie Studdon (Cronulla-Caringbah)
8 Ruan Sims (Cronulla-Caringbah)
9 Rebecca Riley (Redfern All-Blacks)
10 Elianna Walton (Greenacre)
11 Kezie Apps (Helensburgh)
12 Vanessa Foliaki (Mounties)
13 Simaima Taufa (Mounties)

14 Lavina Phillips (Redfern All-Blacks)
15 Jennifer Latu (Cronulla-Caringbah)
16 Jasmin Allende (Redfern All-Blacks)
17 Rebecca Young (Hunter Stars)
18 Ruby Ewe (Cronulla-Caringbah)

Coach: Ben Cross

Queensland Women’s team:
1 Karina Brown (Burleigh)
2 Chelsea Baker (Gladstone)
3 Amelia Kuk (Souths)
4 Annette Brander (Beerwah)
5 Casey Karklis (Souths)
6 Ali Brigginshaw (Souths)
7 Courtney Lockwood (Beerwah)
8 Steph Hancock (Souths)
9 Brittany Breayley (Souths Sunnybank)
10 Heather Ballinger (Souths)
11 Renae Kunst (Souths)
12 Tazmin Gray (Burleigh)
13 Rona Peters (Burleigh)

14 Libby Cook-Black (Souths)
15 Steph Gallagher (Beerwah)
16 Selena Tranter (Burleigh)
17 Kody House (Calliope)
18 Tegan Rolfe (Clermont)

Coach Brad Donald
Assistant coach: Karyn Murphy