Skip to main content

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today named a Prime Minister’s XIII train-on squad featuring young stars Mitchell Moses, James Roberts and Reagan Campbell-Gillard ahead of the match against Papua New Guinea in Port Moresby on Saturday, September 26.

The squad, which will be coached by Penrith Panthers’ Ivan Cleary, has been selected from the teams which will not take part in the Finals Series.

More players will be added to the squad from the teams eliminated in Week One of the Finals Series ahead of the naming of a final team on September 15.

Cleary, who will coach the Prime Minister’s XIII for the first time, said he was excited to work with a squad featuring such talent.

“I’m very grateful for the opportunity, and I’m particularly looking forward to working with some of the younger players who have bright futures.

“This will be an important match for the players who are ultimately selected. This may be a stepping stone for some ahead of the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.”

The train-on squad consists of:
Jake Mamo (Newcastle Knights)
Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
Jack Stockwell (Newcastle Knights)
James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
David Nofoaluma (Wests Tigers)
Mitchell Moses (Wests Tigers)
Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
Curtis Sironen (Wests Tigers)
James Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)
Kane Elgey (Gold Coast Titans)
Kierran Moseley (Gold Coast Titans)
Beau Falloon (Gold Coast Titans)
Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
James Segeyaro (Penrith Panthers)
Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers)
Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
Edrick Lee (Canberra Raiders)
Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
Shannon Boyd (Canberra Raiders)
Paul Vaughan (Canberra Raiders)
Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
Will Hopoate (Parramatta Eels)
Tepai Moeroa (Parramatta Eels)
Chad Townsend (Warriors)
Nathan Friend (Warriors)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
Jake Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)